After World War II, Davidson County, Tennessee experienced dramatic growth as people began moving out of Nashville's older urban neighborhoods into new modern houses being rapidly built in new neighborhoods known as suburbs. The county's educational system attempted to keep up with the increased school-age population by building new schools in the suburbs, but it did not have the financial resources to provide other basic services, such as fire protection, sanitary sewers, or garbage collection. This population shift also created a financial challenge for Nashville's city government as its tax base began to erode. In addition, county residents enjoyed many city services such as the use of its public libraries and parks system without paying the city taxes which funded those services.

Beyond the problems caused by rapid growth, there was some overlapping of services by the city and the county. Elected officials and community leaders in both the city and county recognized that they needed to work together to solve these problems. After 20 years of lengthy debates over the best solution, the residents of the city of Nashville and Davidson County voted to consolidate their governmental functions into a completely new form of government now known as the Metropolitan Government of Nashville-Davidson County.


Karl F. Dean

Karl Dean is the sixth mayor of the Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County. He was first elected on Sept. 11, 2007 and re-elected on Aug. 4, 2011.

Mayor Dean's priorities are improving schools, making neighborhoods safer and bringing more and better jobs to Nashville. He also works to sustain and improve Nashville's high quality of life through numerous initiatives that promote health, sustainability and volunteerism.


The Metropolitan Council is the legislative authority of The Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County, a city-county consolidated government created on April 1, 1963.

The Council is a 40-member body of elected representatives of which 35 are elected by district and 5 are elected at-large, or county-wide. The presiding officer is the Vice Mayor, who is elected at-large by the citizens of Nashville and Davidson County. Members are elected to serve a term of four years.

By Charter the regular meetings of the Council are held on the first and third Tuesdays of every month. Meetings convene at 6:30 p.m. The meetings are held in the David Scobey Council Chamber in the Historic Metro Courthouse, One Public Square in downtown Nashville. All meetings are open to the public.

Metro Council Broadcasts

The Metropolitan Council convenes for regular meetings the first and third Tuesdays of every month at 6:30 p.m. Meetings are broadcast live at Metro3 Government TV on Nashville's Comcast Channel 3 and are streamed live at the Metro3 livestream site . Meetings are scheduled for repeat on Metro3 through the course of the following weeks, check program listing for times .



Translation of Website


Free WiFi

Free High Speed WiFi throughout Hotel.

Free Breakfast

Start your day off right with our Free Hot Continental Breakfast.


Free Parking is available for all our guests.


Fitness Room with all state of the art equipment and Business Center.